This article covers use scenarios for routing when one user creates routes and others follow them, like a dispatcher and mobile agents. A dispatcher here can be an administrator or any other Mapsly user whom an Administrator granted access to routes owned by other users. This guide addresses the following scenarios for a dispatcher:

  • a dispatcher creates routes and assigns them to other users who will be following them later;

  • a dispatcher browses all routes including those assigned to other users;

  • a dispatches re-assigns an existing route to other users, one by one or multiple routes at once.

Planning of a route and following it on desktop and mobile - please visit this article. Planning of regular visits is covered here.

Concept: Route object, and ownership of Routes

In Mapsly, each saved route is a record in the Route system object. Each Route has an owner - the user to which the route is assigned.

Each user with the Route panel permission can see routes that they own by clicking Load route in the Route panel's context menu:

To assign a route to a user, you need to assign this user as the Owner of this route.

NOTE: A user doesn't need access to the Route object to see routes that they own in the route list by the Load route button.

Users with access to the Route object can view all routes including those owned by other users by selecting the Route object in the Table view. Users with Modify access to the Route object can also re-assign routes to other users by changing their owners (as described below).

Building a route for another team member

Once you've built a new route (you may follow this guide to learn how to do it), you can assign it to any user by clicking Save route as... in the route's context menu:

and choosing the Owner for the Route:

IMPORTANT! You need to have the Browse users permission to see other Mapsly users here.

Once the route is saved, the new owner will see it in their list of routes when they click Load route in the Route panel's context menu.

Once you saved the route, you'll see its name and the assigned user on top of the Route panel when this route is loaded:

To re-assign the route to another user, click the Edit button

and select the new Owner in the route properties:

IMPORTANT! Please note that the list of routes by the Load route button only contains routes that you personally own, so once you assign a route to another user it will no longer be visible in this route list. To view and modify routes assigned to other users, use the Table view with the Route object selected, as described below.

Accessing all routes including those assigned to other users

View all routes

To view all routes, open the Table view and select the Route object:

IMPORTANT! You need to have access to the Route object. (By default, only Mapsly administrators have access to the Route object.)

Load an existing route to Route panel

To load a route into the Route panel, click Load in the route's context menu:

Note: Your own routes you can also load by clicking Load route in the route's context menu, but a route currently assigned to another user can only be loaded from the Table view.

Re-assigning existing routes to other users

To re-assign an existing route, you need to change its owner by editing the route's properties. There are 3 ways to do it:

Option #1: in the Table view with the Route object selected, in the route's context menu click Edit route properties and select the new owner:

Option #2: in the Table view with the Route object selected, select one or multiple routes that you'd like to re-assign and in the Group actions menu click Edit:

then add Owner field and select the target user to whom you'd like to assign the route(s):

Option #3:

  • load a route into the Route panel as described in section Load an existing route to Route panel above, or by clicking Load route in the route's context menu (in the Table view),
    OR
    by clicking Load route in the Route panel's context menu as described in section Concept: Route object, and ownership of Routes above (only for your own routes);

  • then edit the route's properties and select the new owner:

(Mass-)deleting routes

There are 3 ways to delete a route:

Option #1: in the Table view, in the route's context menu click Delete.

Option #2: in the Table view, select one or multiple routes you'd like to delete and click Delete in the Group actions menu:

Option #3: click Load routes in the Route panel's context menu and click Delete icon-button near the route you'd like to delete:

Did this answer your question?